Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award

Type: Individual

Description: The Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award was established by the WEF Board of Control in 1993 to recognize individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism and contributions to the water quality analysis profession.


  • Candidate must be employed at an educational facility laboratory, industrial, commercial, or municipal laboratory which performs wastewater-related analysis, and must have direct analytical responsibilities.
  • Candidates are eligible for this award only once.
  •  Membership and involvement in professional associations. Examples: Water Environment Federation
  • Committees, Standard Methods Joint Task Groups, MA committees and conferences and conference activities.
  • Outstanding efforts in the area of wastewater and environmental aquatic analyses, including such items as innovative sampling techniques or solutions to a treatment, analytical or environmental problem.
  • Involvement in community activities or public relations.
  • Presentations at professional conferences, meetings, etc. relevant to water quality analysis.
  • Professional certifications.
  • Continuing education.
  • Contributions that have been beneficial to the nominees facility.
  • Unusual initiative or performance “beyond the call of duty”.

Awarding Organization: Water Environment Federation

Deadline: May 31, 2024

Submit Nomination

Previous Awardees: 

2023    Walter Palm

2022    Kim Sandbach

2021    Michelle Gaudette

2020   Andrew G. Wendell

2019    Carmen Krzesik

2018    Stephanie Rochefort

2017    Danielle Morrison

2016    James Galasyn

2015    Betty Anne Rogers

2014    Mary Jersey

2013    Peter Sherwood

2012    Dennis Palumbo

2011    Thomas Sciarrino

2010    Mary Lee Santoro

2009    Robert Fischer

2008    Ann Mastroianni

2007    Janet Abrahamson

2006    Suzanne Senechal

2005    David Anderson

2004    Kim Maloney

2003    Cynthia Walters

2002    Mary Peck

2001    Timothy Loftus

2000    Andrew Fish

1999    Colleen Spero

1998    Nancy McAuley-Lesieur

1997    Paul Fitzgibbons

1996    Lawrence Rogacki

1995    Phyllis Rand

1994    Richard Seymour, Jr.