Golden Manhole Award

Type: Individual Award 

Description: The Golden Manhole Award is awarded to an individual who has had significant participation in one or more of the following areas: Operations, Maintenance, Design, Field Evaluation, Education, Training, Certification, Management, and Planning of Wastewater Collection Systems.

Nominees shall not be on the Collection Systems Awards Sub-Committee. The Collection Systems Committee (CSC) Awards Sub-Committee shall have seven members comprised of the following configuration:

  • Present Awards Subcommittee Chair – 1
  • Past Collection Systems Committee Chair – 1
  • Past Award (Golden Manhole and Courchaine Award) Recipients – 2
  • Collection Systems Committee Members with at least 1-5 years of active service – 3

Criteria: Induction will be determined by a vote of members of the Collection Systems Awards Sub-Committee based on the following:

  • Active in Collection Systems for ten years;
  • Five years of service on NEWEA Collection Systems Committee;
  • Participation in NEWEA technical conferences as a Session Moderator;
  • Participation in NEWEA Collection Systems Committee Subcommittees (e.g. Abstract Review, James J. Courchaine Collection Systems Award, etc.)

Additional Criteria Considered:

  • Technical presentations at professional conferences;
  • Papers or articles accepted by state, regional, or national publications;
  • Past NEWEA Collection Systems Committee Chair;
  • Wastewater Collection or Operator Certification (Minimum Grade III)

Inductees into the Golden Manhole Society shall receive their NEWEA Golden Manhole recognition pins and certificates at the NEWEA Annual Conference.

Awarding Organization: New England Water Environment Association

Submit Nomination

Previous Awardees:

2023    Charlie Tripp
2022    Scott Lander
2021    Vonnie Reis
2020    Tom Loto
2019    Brendan Doyle
2019    Peter Garvey
2018    Mike Armes
2017    Don Kennedy
2016    Robert Domkowski
2016    John Digiacomo
2015    Michael Smith
2014    Kevin Olson
2013    John Murphy
2012    Stacey DePasquale
2011    Joseph Boccadoro
2010    Paul Barden
2009    James Barsanti
2007    Paul Casey
2007    Richard Perez
2006    Charles Gore
2006    Bradley Hayes
2005    James Courchaine
2004    Charles Ryan
2004    John Struzziery
2004    Mark Thompson