Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award

Type: Individual / Organization

Description: Established in 2021 to recognize an individual, group, or organization in the wastewater field that has created, promoted, and maintained the principles of diversity, equity and inclusion (DE&I) in their organization/profession and/or community. The awards recognize an individual, group or organization that has created and maintained DE&I by establishing an environment that promotes, recognizes and effectively utilizes individual talents.

NEWA recognizes the role of DE&I as being essential to the growth, structure, and continued success of any organization. DE&I should be an inherent trait of any organization and is manifest in the mosaic of people who bring a variety of backgrounds, perspectives, values, and beliefs as assets to a group or organization in which they interact.

The DE&I Award is not given to an individual, group, or organization on the basis of who they are, but because of their achievements and accomplishments they have made.

Criteria: All award recipients must be working directly in the wastewater field in management, operations, design, equipment, technology, sales, regulatory, or other related fields. The recipient must show a demonstration of success that has benefited members of their organization and help promote DE&I practices in wastewater field.

Individual: This person seeks to raise awareness of the value a diverse workforce and inclusive environment brings to a company or organization. This individual champions the cause of DE&I and works to inspire other individuals and management to engage in activities that will promote & recognize DE&I principles and practices. The recipient seeks new challenges and challenges others to continually work toward making a difference in the work/life experiences of present and future generations.

Group, organization or company – Works to foster a workplace that creates a sense of belonging and equity for everyone. This includes setting DE&I goals and standards to ensure employees are provided an opportunity to be heard, valued and engaged. The award recipient applies innovative, future forward, and visionary thinking to foster DE&I principles in the workplace and greater community.

Awarding Organization: New England Water Environment Association

Deadline: May 31, 2024

Previous Awardees

2023    Jasmine Strout

2022    Isabella Cobble

2021    Oluwole “OJ” McFoy

Submit Nomination