Biosolids Management Award

Type: Individual

Description: The NEWEA Biosolids Management Award shall be presented annually to a NEWEA member(s), an engineering firm, a specific project, a municipality, or a specific municipal or industrial facility that has made significant accomplishments in the field of biosolids technology and management practices within the boundaries of the New England states, that has been working in the field of biosolids management and utilization and that has shown a sustained commitment to biosolids utilization.


  • Adherence to science based processes and practices, public education and outreach, regulatory and policy matters, energy consumption, cross media impact management, information sharing with peers, commitment to sustainability, and local ecosystems.

Awarding Organization: New England Water Environment Association

Deadline: May 31, 2024

Submit Nomination

Previous Awardees: 

2023    Mary Waring

2022    Karla Sangrey

2021    James Jutras

2020   Hawk Ridge Compost Faciltiy – Casella Organics

2019    Greater Lawrence Sanitary District

2018    James Taylor and the Merrimack Biosolids Composting Team

2017    Shelagh Connelly

2016    Clayton Richardson

2015    Ned Beecher

2014    John Donovan