Founders Award

Type: Individual or Group

Description: In 1928, twelve renowned engineers from the New England area met to establish a professional organization dedicated to the “exchange of knowledge” for the treatment of sewage and industrial wastewater. They envisioned the need to maintain a forum for free discussion and exchange of state-of-the-art information. In honor of these founding engineers and their vision of the present organization, which we now call the “New England Water Environment Association,” the Executive Committee established the Founders Award.

Criteria:  It is given as considered appropriate by the Executive Committee in recognition long term contributions to NEWEA, dedicated service to the industry in any facet of water pollution control, notable achievements or accomplishments in the environmental field or recognition to a renowned individual or individuals.

Awarding Organization: New England Water Environment Association

Deadline: May 31, 2024

Submit Nomination

Previous Awardees:

2023    James Barsanti

2022    Paul Dombrowski

2021    Meg Tabacsko

2020   Jeannette Brown

2019    Howard Carter

2018    Douglas Miller

2017    New Hampshire Water Pollution Control Association

2016    Charles Tyler

2015    Connecticut Water Pollution Abatement Association

2013    Roger Janson

2012    Ronald Tiberi

2011    Ronald Poltak

2010    Elizabeth Cutone

2009    Connecticut Nitrogen Trading Program

2008    Ned Beecher

2007    New Hampshire Water Pollution Control Association

2006    Massachusetts Water Pollution Control Association

2005    James Courchaine

2004    Green Mountain Water Environment Association

2003    Glenn Haas

2002    Narragansett Water Pollution Control Association

2001    Maine Wastewater Control Association

2000    Charles Conway

1999    Robert Livingston

1998    Robert Marini

1997    New Hampshire Water Pollution Control Association

1996    Lester Sutton

1995    Francis Mahony, Jr.

1993    Douglas Hoyle

1992    New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission

1991    Edward Bayon

1991    Robert Perry

1990    Dorr-Oliver

1990    Earl Howard

1989    Joseph Hanlon

1989    Hartford MDC Treatment Facility

1989    William Healy

1989    Earl Howard

1989    North Attleboro Treatment Facility