2020-21 Slate of Awardees

NEWEA is pleased to announce the 2020-21 NEWEA/WEF Award Recipients. Congratulations to all!

Typically, award recipients would be honored at the Awards Ceremony & Luncheon, which takes place during the last day of the Annual Conference & Exhibit, but the 2021 Annual Conference was held entirely virtually.

In lieu of a virtual awards ceremony, NEWEA will be sharing a several months-long digital promotional campaign. Each of the award recipients listed below will be highlighted on NEWEA’s social channels and website.

If you’d like to support your colleagues, check out our awards promotional plan to download templates and content that can be customized and shared in support of awardees.

Congratulations again to our slate of 2020-21 awardees!

NEWEA Recognitions

Stockholm Junior Water Prize
Colin Speaker, Greenwich, CT
Amara Ifeji, Bangor, ME
Shreya Nagri, Nashua, NH

Scholarship Recipients 2020-21
Kennedy Brown, Undergraduate Student
Cassidy Yates, Graduate Student
Anna LeClair, Undergraduate Student

NEWEA Awards

Alfred E. Peloquin Award
Gary Zrelak, Greater New Haven, CT
Mac Richarson, Lewiston, ME
Keith Bourassa, Pittsfield, MA
Ray Gordon, Concord, NH
Stephen Buckley, Warwick, RI

Margaret Dwyer, Stratton,VT

Asset Management Award
John Vogl, Salem, NH

Biosolids Management Award
Hawk Ridge Compost, Hermon, ME

Clair N. Sawyer Award
Nora Lough, Providence, RI

Committee Service Award
Kate Biedron, Manchester, NH

E. Sherman Chase Award
John Esler, Enfield, NH

Elizabeth A. Cutone Executive Leadership Award
John Sullivan, Roxbury, MA

Energy Management Achievement Award
Greater Lawrence Sanitation District, North Andover, MA

Founders Award
Jeanette Brown, Darien, CT

James J. Courchaine Collection Systems Award
Don Kennedy, Lowell, MA

Operator Award
Mark Bukowski, Windsor Locks, CT
Scott Lausier, Sanford, ME
Carl Thurston, Chicopee, MA
Ray McNeil, Rollinsford, NH
Jose Da Silva, Bristol, RI
Marty Frizzell, Brighton, VT

Operator Safety Award
Shannon Eyler, Portland, ME

Past President’s Plaque and Pin
Ray Vermette, Dover, NH

Paul Keough Award
Bonnie Combs, Whitinsville, MA

Wastewater Utility Award
Montville WPCA, Uncasville, CT

Young Professional Award
Kate Roosa, Boston, MA

Youth Educator Award
Kerry Reed, Framingham, MA

NEWEA Committee Awards

Crystal Crucible

Walter Palm, Providence, RI

Golden Manhole
Tom Loto, Amston, CT

Golden Raindrop

Amy Schofield, Roxbury, MA

Green Steps

WEF-MA Awards

Arthur Sidney Bedell Award

Dennis Palumbo, Stamford, CT

Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award
Andy Wendell, Newport, ME

Operations Challenge Competition – Div II, 3rd Place Overall
Force Maine

William D. Hatfield Award
Jeff Gamelli, Westfield, MA

WEF Student Design Competition*
Samantha Kinnaly, Kate Engler, Annie Lamonte, Emma Totsubo, Northeastern University

Ian Kosnik, Jake Senecal, Olivia Nachbauer, Sam Mikell, University of Vermont

WEF Fellow
Charles Tyler, Sherborn, MA

*Presented as part of WEFTEC

EPA Region I New England Awards

Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant Operation and Maintenance Excellence Award
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Kathy Perez, Superintendent

Jackman Utility District, Maine
Sara Giroux, Superintendent

Woodstock, New Hampshire
Kathy Welch, Chief Operator

Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator of the Year Excellence Award
Mark Batorski
Farmington, Connecticut

Jim Pouliot
Epping, New Hampshire

Dylan Chase,
New Shoreham, Rhode Island

Regional Wastewater Trainer of the Year
Mike Caso
Technology Sales NE

Industrial Pretreatment Program of the Year
City of Somersworth, New Hampshire
Stephanie Rochefort
Chemist/Industrial Pretreatment Coordinator

Lifetime Achievement Award
Don Kennedy

2 Responses to 2020-21 Slate of Awardees

  1. Margaret Dwyer February 25, 2021 at 11:37 am #

    I am so excited and appreciative of receiving the Alfred E. Peloquin award for Vermont. Thank you for this honor, it is nice to be recognized after working in the business of water and wastewater for over 33 years!

    • Henry Jaen February 25, 2021 at 1:27 pm #

      Congratulations again Margaret. A well earned award!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.