

New England Water Environment Association Executive Committee Meeting November 19, 2020

ACTION ITEM: APPROVE: 2020 NEWEA Awards Nomination

By vote of the members of the NEWEA Awards Committee, we submit the following 2020 NEWEA and WEF Award Nominations to the Executive Committee for Approval:

NEWEA AWARDS

Award	State	Nominee	
	Connecticut	Mark Bukowski	
	Maine	Scott Lausier	
NEWEA Operator Award	Massachusetts	Carl Thurston	
	New Hampshire	Ray McNeil	
	Rhode Island	Jose Da Silva	
	Vermont	Marty Frizzell	
	Connecticut	Gary Zrelak	
	Maine	Mac Richardson	
Alfred E. Peloquin Award	Massachusetts	Keith Bourassa	
	New Hampshire	Ray Gordan	
	Rhode Island	Stephen Buckley	
	Vermont	Margaret Dwyer	
Award			
Operator Safety Award		Shannon Eyler	
Youth Educator Award		Kerry Reed	
Paul Keough Award		Bonnie Combs	
Elizabeth Cutone Executive Leadership		John Sullivan	
Young Professional Award		Kate Roosa	
James J. Courchaine Collection Systems Award		Don Kennedy	
Founders Award		Jeanette Brown	
E. Sherman Chase Award		John Esler	
Clair N. Sawyer Award		Nora Lough	
Biosolids Management Award		Hawk Ridge Compost	
Committee Service Award		Kate Biedron	
Wastewater Utility Award		Montville WPCA	
Asset Management Excellence Award		John Vogl	
Energy Management Achievement Award		Greater Lawrence Sanitation District	



WEF/MA AWARDS

(To be given at NEWEA each year)

Award	Nominee
George W. Burke Jr. Award	None
Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award	Andy Wendell
William D. Hatfield Award	Jeff Gamelli
Arthur Sydney Bedell Award	Dennis Palumbo

Respectfully Submitted,	Res	pectfu	vllu	Sub	mitted
-------------------------	-----	--------	------	-----	--------

Jay Sheehan, Awards Committee Chair Marylee Santoro, Awards Committee Vice Chair

ACTION ITEM

The NEWEA Awards Committee recommends that the Executive Committee accept the
nomination of the above individuals and/or organizations for their respective NEWEA and WEF
Awards.

Action:	Approved	Approved as Amended	Denied
/ tectorii			Defiled