WEF-MA Awards



Public Education Award* Jeffrey Kalmes Town of Billerica Billerica, MA





*Presented at WEFTEC 2011



The Metropolitan District Hartford, CT



New England Water Environment Association annual awards



WEF Service/WEF Delegate Sean Osborne Haley and Ward Waltham, MA



George W. **Burke Jr. Award** Town of Merrimack Merrimack. NH Leo Gaudette



Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award Thomas Sciarrino Town of Windsor Locks WPCA Windsor Locks, CT



William D. Hatfield Award **Howard Carter** City of Saco Saco, ME



Arthur Sidney Bedell Award Albert Pincince **CDM Smith** Cambridge, MA



NEWEA Awards Ceremony & Luncheon 2012 Annual Conference & Exhibit Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston, Massachusetts January 25, 2012 www.newea.org

EPA Awards

2011 EPA - New England Regional Wastewater **Treatment Plant O&M Excellence Award Recipients**

Claremont, NH Wastewater Treatment Facility

Greenfield, Massachusetts Water Pollution Control Plant

Narragansett Bay Commission -**Fields Point Wastewater Treatment Facility**

State of Vermont Municipal Wastewater Treatment Facilities

2011 Regional Wastewater Operator Certification Provider Award

Carole Fowler, Environmental Technician Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation

2011 Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant

Kevin Cini, Chief Plant Operator Water Pollution Control Authority, City of Groton, CT Utilities

Richard M. Stevens, General Manager Water Division, City of Groton, CT Utilities

Donald Schagen, Superintendent Lebanon, New Hampshire Wastewater Treatment Plant

Richard Emberley, Plant Operator Franklin Pierce College, New Hampshire Wastewater Treatment

Janine Burke, Executive Director Warwick, Rhode Island Sewer Authority

2011 Regional State Wastewater Association Award Maine WasteWater Control Association

2011 Regional Pretreatment Excellence Award Manchester, New Hampshire

EPA would like to thank the New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission for its continued sponsorship and the New England Water Environment Association for its unwavering support.

NEWEA Recognitions

Scholarship Recipients 2011

Undergraduate



Scott Landers Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA



Graduate



Jennifer Apell Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA

Nancy Wells Lesley University Cambridge, MA

Stockholm Junior Water Prize



William Hallisev Greenwich High School Greenwich, CT



Leila Musavi Bangor High School Bangor, ME



Andrew Bellesis Wachusett Regional High School Holden, MA



Jay Lizotte Goffstown High School Goffstown, NH



Murthy LaSalle Academy Providence, RI



Riya Patel South Burlington High School South Burlington, VT

nEWEA Awards

NEWEA Operator Award



Connecticut Tracy Hardy Norwich Public Utilities Ellsworth WWTF Norwich, CT



Maine Ellsworth, ME



Massachusetts Michael Harris, Jr. Jeremiah Murphy WhiteWater, Inc. Charlton, MA



New Hampshire Rhode Island Raymond Vermette James DiCaprio City of Dover Dover, NH



West Warwick Wastewater West Warwick, RI



Christopher Hayes Simon Operation Services Andover, VT



Maine Massachusetts Joseph Witts Michael Hanson Sanford Sewerage District Andritz Separation, Inc. Springvale, ME Nashua, NH



New Hampshire Rhode Island Peter Rice Portsmouth DPW Portsmouth, NH

Connecticut

NEIWPCC

Lowell, MA

Charles Conway



Vermont Gail Tiffany Joseph LaPlante Narragansett Bay Town of Bennington Commission Bennington, VT Providence, RI



Operator Safety Award Stephen Cote Narragansett Bay Commission Providence, RI



J. J. Courchaine Collection **Systems Award** Aniceto Teves Veolia Water North America Taunton, MA



Paul Keough Award Barbara Polichetti The Providence Journal Providence, RI



Public Educator Award Northeast Metropolitan Regional Vocational School Wakefield, MA Represented by: John Crowley



Young Professional Award John Murphy **NEIWPCC** Lowell, MA



Wastewater Utility Award Town of Provincetown Provincetown, MA **David Guertin**



Asset Management Excellence Award Town of Windsor Locks WPCA Windsor Locks, CT Steven Wawruck, Jr.



Energy Management Achievement Award Edgartown WWTF Edgartown, MA Joseph Alosso



E. Sherman Chase Award W. Keith Dobie F.R. Mahony & Associates, Inc. Rockland, MA



Clair N. Sawyer Award James O'Shaughnessy Worcester Polytechnic Institute Bedford, MA



Founders Award Ronald Poltak **NFIWPCC** Lowell, MA



Past President's Plaque & Pin **Howard Carter** City of Saco Saco, ME

WEF-MA Awards



Operations Challenge **National** Competition

NH Seacoast Sewer Snakes First Place, Division II - Overall Paula Anania, Coach John Sykora Daniel Driscoll Timothy Vadney





Michael Carle

James Jutras Village of Essex Junction Essex Junction, V7



WEF Life Membership



Edward Boyajian MWRA Woburn, MA



Vladimir Novotny Newton, MA



Ralph Oulton Cumberland



Abdul Quadir City of West Haven West Haven, CT